Fav Frocks 2013

Since this is only the 9th day of 2014, I decided to do a recap of my fav dresses of 2013. Anyone who knows me knows that I wear dresses A LOT. One reason is because they are one and done, I don’t have to worry about finding pants or a top to match the other. The second reason is because many stores don’t carry tall which can be a major pain. Well let’s begin!

review7Qristyl Frazier’s Floetry dress from the Mystique Collection available here http://qristylfrazierdesigns.com/collections/mystique/floetry/. Qristyl is NYC designer who participated on Project Runway Season 6. She is dedicated to plus size sexy and has also been featured on All On the Line with Joe Zee on Sundance, as well as Nuvo TV’s Curvy Girls. I have been to her fashion show in NYC for one of her summer collections and she was also Curves Rock Fashion Weekend’s first feature designer.

review6This blue number is from Asos Curve. I wanted something nice and dramatic to wear to the Fashion Awards MD event for emerging talent. This dress featured double splits and honey, when the wind blew I just felt like Marilyn Monroe…. I definitely missed a great camera moment haha. It also doesn’t hurt that it’s my favorite color!

review3

review2 review5

review4 This piece is designed by Chanell Jones who also happens to be one of the founders of Curves Rock Fashion Weekend….. she’s also my boss!! I wore this piece to the main Fashion Awards MD event back in June. As you can see, this dress wasn’t for the faint at heart because that split HONEY!!!! I have to admit, I was nervous initially but when it came down to D-day, I stood tall, kept my head up, and werked it!!!!! I do have lovely chocolate legs haha and I made sure that they were properly moisturized to do the dress justice. It was really nice to have a custom piece in my closet and as you can see by the pictures, I had tons of fun posing with the dress after my event.

shoxieThis beautiful caftan dress called The Style Pantry is made by Shoxie which the brain child of one of my favorite stylist/designers, Style Pantry. I wore this dress to the Curves Rock Fashion Weekend Empowerment Brunch back in July. What I really loved about this dress, and this collection in particular is that it was made for both regular AND plus sizes. The other thing that I loved is how long it was. There is nothing that I hate more (well a few things) than a long dress that barely even reaches my ankles. NOT CUTE!!! This dress was actually too long and I’m 5’9. Even with 3.5″ heels, I still had to have it hemmed but I am not complaining one bit!!! The dress is found online here http://www.shoxie.com/the-style-pantry.html.

reviewThis Adrianna Papell, one of my favorite designers for special occasion wear, is the designer of this beautiful gown found here http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/adrianna-papell-beaded-mesh-gown-plus-size/3265406?origin=category-personalizedsort&contextualcategoryid=0&fashionColor=INK&resultback=638&cm_sp=personalizedsort-_-browseresults-_-undefined_3_A. This dress was also available at Macys and surprisingly, the dress in the store at Nordstrom was $10 cheaper. Anyway, this dress was a showstopper at my cousin’s wedding!!! I didn’t like it at all on the hanger, and it didn’t say much to me on the model in the stock picture, but when I put it on I was in LOVE. Goes to show you that often times you just have to try something on, you might be surprised!!!

review1This Jones New York dress is something old that I had in my closet since I attended a ball in DC celebrating President Obama’s first Inauguration. I wore it to my old boss’ 50th birthday party. I wasn’t sure it would still fit and I was pleasantly surprised. I’m much curvier now than I was then so this dress had a different feel than it did the last time I wore it

Leave a Reply

