Curves Rock Fashion Weekend

527001_768245662482_547468342_n 378473_283592095021293_545891154_n

I’ve mentioned before that I work with Curves Rock Fashion Weekend. So what is CRFW?

Curves Rock works to empower curvy women sizes 10+ through fashion, beauty, and health. We are the premiere plus size event in the DMV. Our motto is ‘I am not your sample size’. Every woman deserves to feel pretty. Every woman deserves to have the opportunity to look her best, to find clothes that fit her taste, as well has her body. We at CRFW want you to be the best you YOU can be. It’s your journey, not anyone else’s. We’ve been on a mission to promote #healthycurves from the very beginning and we’re about to take it to another level, but first, let me share what we’ve done so far.

I serve as the Executive Assistant to the founder of CRFW. We’re in our third year and it has been an AMAZING experience!!! I’ve learned so much about the industry and event planning and I”m very grateful. I can by shy sometimes and I’m not the type of person to sell/promote something unless I strongly believe in it and this I believe in with my whole heart. The thing that I really love is that you get to really see the fruits of your hard labor!!! We’ve sold out the past two years and I know it will happen again. Each year gets bigger and better and we work smarter not harder which is really refreshing. A lot of times when you work with big companies, upper management doesn’t understand the complaints of their employees because they are so busy playing politics which is always frustrating. My first year I worked on a team soliciting donations for our Swag bags for our VIP guests. I also assisting in securing our feature designer which was Qristyl Fraiser (who I’ve mentioned twice before) of Project Runway Season 6. When it came time for the show I took care of the special guests and signaled the DJ when the last girl was coming on the runway. Talk about adrenaline rush!! It was euphoric and addictive!!! Our host was professional model/actress Liris Crosse of Baltimore. Some of you may remember her from the bachelor scene in The Best Man or her steamy scene with Tyrese in Baby Boy and some of you have seen her grace the pages of magazines such as Essence or even in music videos alongside rappers such as Jay Z and 50 Cent. In addition to the runway show we had a healthy curves workshop, embrace your curves workshop, model bootcamp, and an empowerment brunch.

ImageImageImageImage

For CRFW 2013 I became a member of the executive board. I became head of the swag bag team and I was also responsible for getting sponsorship donations for the TONS of giveaways we had throughout the weekend. Liris Crosse hosted again along with Tionna Smalls of MTV and VH1. Tionna was Chili of TLC’s relationship coach in What Chili Wants and she had her own show called Girl Get Your Mind Right. In addition to our lineup from 2012, we also added a relationship workshop hosted by Ms. Smalls, a Runway Competition open to all sizes and genders, and a Flash Mob open to anyone as well. I’ll revise this post and go into more detail later so be sure to check back but in the meantime please enjoy the pictures and videos. I want to get this post out so I can post our model call information today!!!

Here is a promo video we had: http://vimeo.com/65205642

Here is a great review of the event: http://bellastyles.com/2013/07/28/bella-on-the-scene-the-runway-show-at-curves-rock-fashion-weekend/

ImageImageImageImageImage

Here is a video highlight from the runway show: http://vimeo.com/71823608

Please go to http://www.curvesrockweekend.com and ‘like’ us on FB for the most up to date information for 2014!!!

20140113-192916.jpg

20140113-192929.jpg

Leave a Reply

