Birthdays, Hotels, and Brunches- OH MY!!!! Part I

This other weekend was one of my best friend’s birthdays. We have a tendency to spoil each other and we both share a love for deals, steals, and luxury whenever possible. Here are some pictures from past shenanigans.  

  

 She surprised me for my birthday last December with tickets to go see Justin Timberlake in Philly.  

 I hadn’t seen him since N-Sync (I am dating myself here lol) opened for Janet Jackson when I was in college.  Here’s a picture from way back when with one of my besties from college. 

 
I wrecked my brain trying to figure out what to do for her this year and over a conversation about the brunch day parties we attended- we found out that the same team also does brunch in DC at Cities Restaurant. We figured that it would be even better in DC and decided to make a weekend out of it. I looked at many hotels and narrowed it down to Sofitel for ~$300 for the night. I chose it because it was ranked in the top 5 for Trip Advisor’s DC business hotels. While searching for hotels I noticed two things:
1) Not so many hotels had government discounts 2)Valet parking prices seemed to have increased across the board. Most prices I saw were $40+.

A few days before our trip my bff told me about a Gilt City deal for The Embassy Row Hotel for $169. The deal included one night stay in a deluxe room, $50 food and drink credit, 2 free coffees, and access to the rooftop pool. We later found out that Living Social had the same deal but valet parking at a $45 value was also included. The only hitch was that the Living Social deal was only valid during the week. Thankfully the room I booked at Sofitel had free cancellation within 24 hrs. I’ll get back there one day.

The Embassy Row Hotel gets its name from being located along Embassy Row. If you’ve never been I urge you to go. You’ll find impressive architecture and mini mansions with huge price tags. If you’re a culture junkie like me- you can check out the Meetup Group Embassy Events for Young Professionals. They often have parties at the embassies and which include greetings from diplomatic personnel. One of their past events was held at the Embassy of Slovenia for $42 pp which includes Slovenian food, Slovenian open bar, a musical performance, and more. I went to one of their events two summers ago and ended up meeting an awesome friend.  

 So now that you have the backstory, on to my experience and reviews. Stay tuned for Part II

Leave a Reply

