Review: Mussel Bar and Grille Harbor East

 I decided to try out Mussel Bar and Grille Harbor East  back in September after I saw the Living Social deal which is still available now. It includes two full mussel pots, two orders of frites (fries), and two glasses of beer or wine.

 They also have locations in Arlington, VA and Bethesda, MD. There were other deals featuring mussels but I chose this one because the kitchen was open the latest on the weekend, till 12:00a.m. Wed-Sat.  Also if you’re not familiar with Harbor East, it’s a nice hip part of Baltimore within walking distance of Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor and million dollar waterfront condos. For those of you who may be spooked due the recent riots and The Wire- fret not, it’s one of the safer parts of the city.

We ended up getting there at 11:40 and I was slightly confused because the restaurant is housed in what used to be Townhouse Kitchen.

I had several outfits pre-planned (to try to cut down on getting ready) a while back and the booskie picked this one. Since it was cool at night, I also grabbed my jacket. My hair was styled in medium sized twists.

 The restaraunt, which opened two winters ago, was virtually empty but the bartender assured me that it was only because it was a holiday weekend (Labor Day). Because we’re greedy we decided to order crab dip, we thought that the mussels wouldn’t fill us up (we thought wrong).  The dip was ok, not bad but not the best.

  My boyfriend decided to order the Mediterranean mussels which features sausage, goat cheese, harissa aioli, and smoky tomato broth.

   I ordered the White Wine mussels cooked with roasted garlic, parsley, cream, and lemon.

 Both were quite delicious. The frites were ok because they were not very warm and could have been cooked longer. The dipping sauces were nice- taking your regular fries up a notch.

  I think that the waiter forgot to bring it out to us when it was ready but it was ok because we were already full sopping up the juices from the mussel pots with bread.

I’d consider going there again in the future, but there are many other places I want to try before returning.

Leave a Reply

